Over the Moon Baby Shower

When I found out that one of my best friends was expecting her first baby, I was over the moon excited. I knew I wanted to do something special for her shower that reflected my friend’s style and celebrated her soon-to-be baby girl.

With the theme “Over the Moon” in mind, I set to work. First, I ordered invitations from Etsy from a wonderful and helpful seller, http://www.sweetbellastationery.com.

invitation

Once the invitations were sent, I started working on a few extras for the event. First, I made individual 4×6 cards for guests to fill out that would serve as a guest book for the mommy-to-be. Once they were filled out I put them in a little photo album for her to keep.

IMG_2842

I also wanted to do something to keep people engaged and entertained while the presents were being opened. I took inspiration from Pinterest and created these simple Bingo boards.

IMG_3165

A game is no fun without prizes, but instead of making up goodie bags I decided to kill two birds with one stone and incorporate the prizes into the table centerpieces. The winners of Bingo went home with these adorable succulents that I planted in cute pots from Michael’s, and they were a huge hit (there might even have been a couple cheaters trying to get the plants first!).

IMG_3179

I kept things simple with yellow flowers and babies breath in mason jars. Oh, and those fun little plants on the table are moon cacti! (Get it? Over the Moon? 🙂 ). I already knew I was having succulents on the table, so when I found out that moon cacti existed (and were adorable) I knew I needed them for favors. I wrapped them in little pieces of fabric and tied moons and tags thanking everyone for coming.

IMG_3177

Since we had the shower at a restaurant, I didn’t have to worry about food or setting up the tables. The staff were wonderful and so helpful. The last thing to take care of was also the most fun: the cake!

IMG_3204

The mom-to-be’s very talented cousin made the cake, and I popped in my hand-made topper to complete it. The topper was created using iron-on letters, felt balls, and a lot of love.

IMG_3171

We had a great time at what ended up being a fun and stress-free event. Most importantly, the mommy loved it!

IMG_3180

Questions, Comments, Concerns

